Skip to main content

What is a limit reset?

Limit resets are given occasionally to eligible plans, and set your usage limits back to full when you choose to use one.

How a limit reset works

  • Depending on the limit reset shown, either your five-hour session limit or your weekly usage limit go back to full right away.

  • Your weekly limits still reset on their usual day and time.

  • You don’t have to wait until you reach a limit to use it.

  • Once you use it, you can’t undo it.

  • If your limit reset has an expiry, the expiry date will be shown in Settings > Usage.

A reset doesn't refund extra usage you've already been billed for or change your usage credit balance. If you downgrade or cancel before using your reset, it's no longer available.

Use your limit reset

To use your reset:

  1. Go to Settings > Usage on the web or in Claude Desktop.

  2. Click "Reset for free" in the Resets section.

  3. Confirm by clicking "Reset for free."

The same "Reset for free" button appears on the message you see when you reach a limit.

Note: An unused reset expires on the day and time listed on the offer. The "Reset for free" button isn’t currently available on Claude Mobile or in Claude Code in your terminal or IDE, so open Claude in a browser or use Claude Desktop instead. Your usage limits are shared across your Claude account, so after you reset your usage limits, they’re back to full on Claude Mobile and in Claude Code too.

Did this answer your question?