Skip to main content

Delete your Claude account

This article shows you how to permanently delete your account on the web and in the Claude mobile apps, and explains what happens to your data when you do.

Important: Deleting your account is permanent. You'll lose access to your conversations, projects, and other saved data, and you can't recover the account afterward. If you want to keep your data, export it on web or desktop before you delete. Learn more about exporting your Claude data.

Before you delete a paid account

If you're on a Pro or Max plan:

  1. Cancel your subscription from your Billing settings.

  2. Wait until the end of your current subscription period.

  3. Once the subscription lapses, delete your account using the steps below.

For detailed cancellation instructions, including for Claude for iOS and Android, see Cancel your Pro or Max subscription.

Delete your account on the web

  1. Go to claude.ai and click your initials or name in the lower left corner.

  2. Select "Settings," or navigate directly to Settings > Account.

  3. Click "Delete account" and follow the prompts.

Delete your account on Claude for iOS

These steps apply to Claude for iOS, listed on the App Store as Claude by Anthropic.

  1. Open the Claude app and tap "Settings."

  2. Find the Account section and tap "Profile."

  3. Tap "Delete account."

  4. Tap "Delete" to confirm.

Delete your account on Claude for Android

These steps apply to Claude for Android, listed on Google Play as Claude by Anthropic.

  1. Open the Claude app and tap the menu button in the upper left corner.

  2. Tap your initials in the lower left corner.

  3. Tap "Profile."

  4. Under Account Actions, tap "Delete Account."

  5. Tap "I Understand" to confirm.

What happens when you delete your account

When you delete your account, you’ll no longer have access to your conversations, projects, and account information. Learn more about how long Anthropic stores your data.

When you need to contact support

In some scenarios you'll need to contact our team to delete your account. If this applies to you, it'll be noted in your account settings. Learn more about how to get support.

If you have multiple accounts associated with the same email address, you'll need to specify which accounts you want to delete when you contact us.

Did this answer your question?