Skip to main content

Get started with the Team plan

Requirements to sign up for a Team plan

  • The account creator must use a business email address. Public domains like @gmail.com, @yahoo.com, and @hotmail.com aren't allowed—but you can add them as permitted domains for other members of your organization.

  • All team members must have an email address with one of your organization's allowed email domains to be invited to the account.

  • During sign-up, you can choose between monthly or annual billing options.

  • Team plans require a minimum of two members and are not intended for individual use.

Create a new Team organization

To get started with the Team plan, navigate to claude.ai/login and enter your work email address. Follow the onboarding prompts and select the Team plan.

Upgrade from an individual plan to the Team plan

If you already have a Free, Pro, or Max account on your work email and want to upgrade to Team, sign in to your account and visit claude.ai/upgrade. Follow the steps to create your Team.

If you see the Keep your personal account separate checkbox, then upgrading to Team upgrades your existing organization in place by default. Your organization ID stays the same and some of your content carries over to your new Team plan. For a full list of what does and doesn’t migrate, see Move your personal Claude account to a Team or Enterprise organization.

Note: Once content has been moved into an organization, it can't be moved back to a personal account.

If you don’t see the Keep your personal account separate checkbox, then this upgrade process will create a separate Team plan with a new organization ID instead. This applies to subscriptions purchased via the Apple App Store, paused plans, and plans using unsupported currencies.

What else happens during an in-place upgrade:

  • Your individual Pro or Max subscription is cancelled automatically and a prorated refund is issued for the unused portion of your billing period. Refunds usually appear immediately, but they can take a few days after your Team payment clears.

  • Any prepaid usage credits on your individual account are refunded.

  • Public projects in your account become private once the upgrade is complete. Project owners can give others in their organization access to the project from its Share menu. For details, see Manage project visibility and sharing.

Note: If you'd rather keep your personal Claude account active alongside your new Team plan, check this box in the team-creation flow before completing your upgrade: Keep your personal account separate. We’ll set up a new workspace for this team and your existing chats and projects stay in your personal account. If you check this, your individual subscription stays active and your personal data stays in your individual account instead of moving into the Team org.

Apple App Store subscribers

Because Apple doesn't allow third-party cancellation of App Store subscriptions, in-place upgrades work differently if you signed up for Pro or Max through the Apple App Store. By default, you will upgrade to a new, separate Team organization. If you'd prefer to upgrade in place, you’ll need to cancel your iOS subscription first and wait for the billing period to end.

Google Play Store subscribers

Subscriptions purchased through the Google Play Store are eligible for in-place upgrade.

If you decline the in-place upgrade

If you choose to keep your personal account, your Team plan creates a separate Claude organization. You can switch between your personal account and the Team org by clicking your initials or name in the lower left corner and selecting the account you want to access. Data isn't shared between separate accounts.

To use only your Team plan after upgrading separately, you'll need to cancel your paid subscription and delete your individual Claude account.

Did this answer your question?